Technology Leaders Network

The Technology Leaders Network was established in October 2013 to lead technology across Government, ensuring we equip government with the right technology to deliver great digital services.

The network is run by the Government Digital Service and is made up of a Departmental Technology Leader from each main government department, plus Technology Leaders from each of the Devolved Administrations. Technology Leaders and Digital leaders are expected to work closely together.

The diagram below illustrates the top-level governance structures supporting technology and digital across central government, mapped to the government’s technology estate.


The objectives of the Technology Leaders Network include:

  • ensure the user experience of government is consistent and high quality
  • provide a forum for collaborating to design and deliver common technology services
  • provide a voice for departments in the ongoing development of technology policy for government, and then to oversee its implementation
  • provide a clear and publicly transparent centre for data and performance management for technology in government
  • provide a leadership forum for operational IT security decision making, informed by risk appetite advice from SCaRAB (likely to change name), to support effective digital and technology services in government
  • promote the ‘Digital by Default’ concept and new ways of working across departments, with stakeholders and customers
  • look for and support opportunities for joint working across departments on the technology agenda
  • share learning and good practice in the delivery of the digital and technology agenda across government
  • champion improvements to technology capability across departments and the centre, drawing on external expertise where appropriate

Here is a list of Departmental Technology Leaders (as accurate of 10 April 2014):
Attorney Generals Office - Not known
Business, Innovation and Skills - Paul Moffat
Cabinet Office – Conall Bullock
Department for Communities and Local Government - Darren Scates
Department for Culture Media and Sport - Shella Johnson
Department for Energy and Climate Change – Matthew Gosden
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs - Chris Howes
Department for Education – Adrian Tucker
Department for International Development - Charles Agnew
Department for Transport - James Findlay
Department of Health - Bob Armstrong
Department for Work and Pensions – Mayank Prakash
Foreign and Commonwealth Office - Colin Martin-Reynolds
Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs – Mark Dearnley
Her Majesty’s Treasury - Karen Delafield
Home Office – Sarah Wilkinson
Ministry of Defence - Mike Stone
Ministry of Justice - Ian Sayer
Northern Ireland Executive - Barry Lowry
Scottish Government - Anne Moises
Welsh Government - Crispin O'Connell
CESG - Chris Ulliott
UK Trade and Investment - Andrew Strachan
Office for National Statistics - Simon Taylor
CPS (Crown Prosecution Service) - Paul Staff